GPAI Council Record Summary 4 December 2024, 11:00 – 13:30 CET Hybrid meeting // Belgrade, Serbia and online via Zoom

Item 1. Welcome Remarks

- 1. The meeting Chair, Ms. Jelena Begović, Serbia's Minister of Science, Technological Development and Innovation, delivered introductory remarks on behalf of Serbia (representing the 2025 GPAI co-Chair). She welcomed Ministers and heads of Delegation to the first GPAI Council meeting since the announcement of the integrated partnership of GPAI and the OECD, under the GPAI brand, in New Delhi in July 2024.
- 2. The Chair acknowledged the collaborative effort, added value and strength that GPAI's 44 members bring to advance the work of the Integrated Partnership. The Chair expressed that Serbia looks forward to working together with the Slovak Republic in co-chairing GPAI in 2025.
- 3. Mr. Ivan Ivančin, the Slovak Republic's State Secretary from the Ministry of Investments, Regional Development and Informatisation gave remarks on behalf of the Slovak Republic (representing the 2025 GPAI co-Chair), followed by Mr. Jitin Prasada, India's Minister of Electronics and Information Technology, representing India (2024 GPAI Chair); and Mr. Ulrik Vestergaard Knudsen, OECD Deputy Secretary-General.

Item 2. Update from the GPAI Plenary

4. The Secretariat, represented by Ms. Karine Perset, Acting Head of Division for AI and Emerging Digital Technologies at the OECD, provided an update on the discussions and outcomes of the first GPAI Plenary, which took place on 12-13 November 2024, including an overview on participation, substantive topics under discussion, and forthcoming GPAI events.

Item 3. Update on ongoing activities of the GPAI expert community

- 5. In introducing this item, the Chair highlighted that a key feature and strength of GPAI is its expert community, which helps advance the Partnership's work. The Chair noted that the integrated partnership announced in July brought together the expansive expert communities from GPAI and the OECD into a single, broad and inclusive multi-stakeholder expert community.
- 6. The Chair commended the three Expert Support Centres in Canada, France and Japan, for their role in supporting this work.
- 7. The Expert Support Centers (ESCs), represented by Ms. Yuko Harayama, Secretary General, from the Tokyo Expert Support Center, Ms. Sophie Fallaha, Executive Director, from the Montreal Expert Support Center (Ceimia) and Ms. Aurélie Simard, Executive Director, from the Paris Expert Support Center (Inria), provided an overview of activities, highlighting some of the ESCs key achievements.
- 8. Representing the Secretariat, Ms. Perset informed participants that the Secretariat is advancing the development of a Work Plan for 2025 and provided a preliminary outline of the proposed projects.

Item 4. GPAI Belgrade Declaration

9. The Chair introduced the draft GPAI Belgrade Declaration and invited delegations to share their views.

For Official Use

- 10. Before opening the floor for interventions, the Chair noted that, following the drafting sessions, one member proposed a grammatical adjustment to remove the word 'we' at the beginning of each sentence in the declaration to avoid repetition, and to align with previous GPAI declarations. The Chair informed that this proposal was incorporated as it does not constitute as a substantive edit.
- 11. Delegations welcomed the GPAI Belgrade Declaration and supported the proposed text ¹. Delegations also shared the consensus that safe, trustworthy, human centric and transparent AI, while fostering innovation, needs to be taken into consideration when developing GPAI's future work. Several delegations highlighted the importance of striving for an inclusive and diverse membership for GPAI. Other delegations emphasised the value of strengthening GPAI's commitment to its multi-stakeholder vision and engagement.
- 12. In response to a suggestion to include a reference to UNESCO's Recommendation on the Ethics of AI, the Chair recalled the negotiation process to develop the draft Declaration and proposed align with its outcome, noting that the membership was not fully aligned on the inclusion of such a reference. The Chair further underscored the importance of the continued collaboration with UNESCO to GPAI.
- 13. While all delegations reached a consensus on supporting the text of the draft GPAI Belgrade Declaration, one delegation requested additional time to complete internal procedural approvals.
- 14. The Chair concluded the item by stating that, once the internal approval procedures are completed by all delegations, the Declaration will be considered adopted. Following this, the Secretariat will notify GPAI members and make the Belgrade declaration publicly available. Delegations supported this approach.

Item 5. Chair's summary and closing remarks

15. The Chair thanked all delegations for their participation in the Council session, highlighting the consensus reached on the text of the GPAI Belgrade Declaration. The Chair concluded by noting that the next GPAI Council meeting would be hosted by the Slovak Republic in Bratislava at the end of 2025.

¹ One delegation noted in writing that "[the delegation] understands references to gender gaps in the context of equality before the law and non-discrimination principles, and for the purposes of this document, [the delegation] understands the term gender as provided in the Rome Statute, Art. 7.3."

Annex List of confirmed Heads of Delegation – GPAI Council: 2024 Belgrade Summit - 4 December 2024

Serbia (2025 GPAI co-Chair) H.E. Jelena Begović	Slovak Republic (2025 GPAI co-Chair) H.E. Ivan Ivančin	India (2024 GPAI Chair) H.E. Jitin Prasada	
Argentina H.E. Osvaldo Marsico	Australia H.E. Daniel Emery	Belgium Mr. Alexander Hoefmans	Brazil H.E. José Mauro da Fonseca Costa Couto
Canada Ms. Alexandra Dostal	Colombia H.E. Luis Fernando Medina	Czech Republic H.E. Jan Bondy	Denmark H.E. Pernille Dahler Kardel
Estonia Mr. Jaanus Vänt	France H.E. Clara Chappaz	Germany Ms. Anna Christmann	Greece H.E. Konstantinos Kyranakis
Hungary H.E. Szabolcs Szolnoki	Ireland Mr. Eamonn Cahill (Online)	Israel H.E. Avivit Bar-llan	Italy H.E. Maria Tripodi
Japan H.E. Takuro Imagawa	Korea H.E. Sanghoon Song (Online)	Lithuania H.E. Mindaugas Rukštelė	Luxembourg Mr. Max Gerten
Mexico H.E. Ulises Canchola Gutiérrez	Netherlands H.E. Martijn Elgersma	Norway Mr.Thorstein Wangen	Poland Mr. Filip Konopczynski
Portugal H.E. Ana Margarida Balseiro de Sousa Lopes	Senegal Ms. Aissatou Jeanne Ndiaye (Online)	Singapore H.E Hong Yuen Poon (Online)	Slovenia Dr. Polonca Blaznik
Sweden H.E. Charlotte Sammelin	Switzerland H.E. Thomas Schneider	Türkiye H.E. Zekeriya Çoştu (Online)	United Kingdom Mr. Amit Thapar
United States H.E. Stephan Lang	OECD H.E. Ulrik Vestergaard Knudsen	EU H.E. Emanuele Giaufret	UNESCO H.E. Tawfik Jelassi
BIAC Mr. Barry O Brien	ITAC Ms. Karen McCabe (Online)	TUAC Ms. Käthe Munk Ryom (Online)	
Secretariat	Expert Support Centers		
Mr. Jerry Sheehan Ms. Karine Perset Mr. Luis Aranda Ms. Gallia Daor Ms. Julia Carro Ms. Maria Castano Ms. Grace Dunphy (Online)	Ms. Sophie Fallaha (CEIMIA) Ms. Aurélie Simard (INRIA) Ms. Yuko Harayama (NICT)		